San Marino RTV

Radiotelevisione della Repubblica di San Marino, commonly known as San Marino RTV (abbreviated SMRTV), is the public service broadcaster of San Marino. On 13 June 2011, San Marino RTV changed its name to SMtv San Marino. In November 2013, the name was changed back to San Marino RTV.

The broadcaster currently operates two television channels (San Marino RTV and San Marino RTV Sport) and two radio stations (Radio San Marino and Radio San Marino Classic).

San Marino RTV was founded in August 1991 thanks to a share capital of Ente per la Radiodiffusione Sammarinese (ERAS, San Marino Broadcasting Company) and the Italian public service broadcaster, RAI. Both participated with 50% of the capital. The agreement between both parties is subject to periodic reviews to guarantee and update the public service broadcasting objectives. San Marino RTV broadcasts in Italian, the official language of San Marino.

Experimental radio broadcasts began on 27 December 1992. On 28 February 1993, Radio San Marino was launched broadcasting 24 hours a day. Experimental television broadcasts began on 24 April 1993. On 28 February 1994 a regular television service was launched, broadcasting from 10:00 A.M. to 2:00 A.M.

In July 1995, San Marino RTV became a full member of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU). The establishment is also a founding member of the Comunità radiotelevisiva italofona.

In 2007, San Marino RTV started expressing interest in entering the Eurovision Song Contest. On 27 November 2007, it was announced that San Marino would make its debut at the Eurovision Song Contest 2008, held in Belgrade, Serbia. After having been absent in the 2009 and 2010 contests due to financial problems, San Marino reached the final for the first time in the 2014 contest.

In 2011, San Marino RTV attempted to participate in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest, but decided to withdraw in October of that year. On 25 October 2013, it was announced that San Marino would make its debut at the 2013 contest, held in Kyiv, Ukraine.